Has anyone seen anything like this before?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

Post by GillianK on Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:01 am

This happened to my cat Sasha in last 2 weeks. It started small and has gotten bigger and bigger. She's almost 10 and had her all her life. Shes always been healthy, and there's been no changes whatsoever to diet, routine, fabric conditioner, anything.

One incident happened in that she got locked in our neighbour's garage for 2 days, and after that she began losing hair, so that might be the cause although I'm not sure. She's licking excessively.

Has anyone seen anything like it or know what it is?

Last edited by GillianK on Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:09 am; edited 1 time in total
GillianK
Oldie
Oldie

Back to top Go down

Re: Has anyone seen anything like this before?

Post by Zoundz on Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:07 am

I'm no cat expert, but it looks like it could be a Staphylococcus aureus infection. I would get it seen by the vet and see if they can give you something like fuciderm cream and maybe an oral antibiotic. Might be best to get a skin scrape done.

xx

Zoundz
Administrator
Administrator

http://www.irishrats.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Post by GillianK on Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:47 am

Took Sasha to vet this evening (never out of that place!) To my ALARM, vet believes it is ringworm, which is a skin infection due to a fungus! She says it's contagious to other pets and to humans! Soooo Sasha has been put on a daily oral treatment I've to give her for next 7 days (then to go back to vet again) a booster collar was put round her neck to stop her licking her big wound, and I've had to quarantine her out of the house.